CrossCultural

CrossCultural – General Terms and Conditions for Language Services          

(version: 07.12.2010)

1. Scope of the General Terms and Conditions
1.1 CrossCultural Nadja Scherrer (herein henceforth called CrossCultural) offers the customer language and culture services (translation, proofreading, interpreting and intercultural consulting) under the following General Terms and Conditions.
1.2 CrossCultural expressly puts on record that any existing, deviating terms and conditions of the client shall not be approved.

2. Conclusion of a contract 
The contract between the customer and CrossCultural shall come into existence only on an instruction by the customer and its acceptance by CrossCultural in which CrossCultural
a) sends the customer the mandate (contract) in writing signed by CrossCultural and it is returned countersigned or
b) sends the customer the order confirmation signed by CrossCultural.

3. Standard of care
3.1 Within the framework of its services, CrossCultural shall meet the standard of care that are generally applicable in the sector and that are to be taken into account because of the specific circumstances of the individual case. The services comply with the recognised state of knowledge in professional practice in the relevant specialist area and/or languages. Texts to be translated shall be rendered appropriately in the required language without abbreviations, additions or other content changes being carried out. Translation shall be carried out subject to meaning and not literal translation in order to comply with the peculiarities and quality standards of the corresponding language areas taking into consideration the meaning of the original text.  3.2 Individual specialist terminology of the customer shall only be taken into consideration if this is expressly agreed and corresponding appropriate documents (e.g. in the form of terminology lists) are provided by the customer before the order. 

4. Implementations by third parties
For the provision of all services, CrossCultural may use qualified third parties (in particular freelances). Contact between the customer and a third party commissioned by CrossCultural shall only be permitted with the consent of CrossCultural. The business relationship only exists between the customer and CrossCultural. 

5. Delivery of services
5.1 The service ordered shall be delivered to the client in accordance with the details in the order form. 
5.2 Delivery dates are only binding if they have been confirmed by CrossCultural in writing.
5.3 A delivery is considered to have been carried out if the translation has been sent back to the customer.
5.4 Other forms of dispatch shall take place only on the basis of prior express agreement. Any dispatch costs are to be borne by the client.
5.5 CrossCultural shall undertake to deliver the services duly to the contact person named in the order form. CrossCultural shall not be liable for late arrivals that arise as a consequence of failures of digital/electronic networks or malfunctions in the postal or courier service or similar.

6. Complaints
The client must examine the service delivered on receipt for defects. Obvious defects are to be notified without delay, others immediately after discovery. If the client fails to do this, the services delivered will be regarded as approved.

7. Warranty
7.1 If and to the extent that a service deviates from the contractually agreed requirements, the client must grant CrossCultural an appropriate period for rectification. 
7.2. Only if the defect is not rectified by the expiry of the period set shall the client have the right to initiate proceedings for price reduction and cancellation of contract in line with Swiss law on works and services.
7.3 CrossCultural accepts no responsibility for the completeness and accuracy of the translations.
7.4 A guarantee shall furthermore be excluded if the deviations are caused by the client himself (e.g. by incomplete information or incorrect original texts). 

8.  Restriction of liability
8.1. Subject to the warranty rights regulated under para. 7 (rectification, price reduction and cancellation), all claims for damages (inc. liability for consequential damages and liability based on principles of reliance and similar) against CrossCultural for slight and ordinary negligence shall be excluded. 
8.2 Liability of CrossCultural for its vicarious agents (including freelancers commissioned) shall with the reservation of the warranty rights regulated in para. 7 be excluded in its entirety. 
8.3 The amount of any liability of CrossCultural is moreover limited to the value of the order amount.

9. Archiving documents and data
The data received from the client within the framework of the contract and the contractual services of CROSSCULTURAL (as a rule, translations produced and texts edited) may be archived by CROSSCULTURAL. The deletion of these data shall take place if expressly requested by the client.

10. Publications 
The publication or the printing of a translation or another text written by CrossCultural must be notified to CrossCultural in advance. CrossCultural shall have the right to require the delivery of a specimen copy

11. Retention of title, copyright 
The work supplied remains the property of CrossCultural until the complete payment of all claims. CrossCultural retains the copyright to its translations and texts in their entirety.

12. Cancellation by the client
12.1 The requirements for a premature cancellation of the contract by the client must comply with the provisions of the Swiss Code of Obligations. 
12.2 In the case of a cancellation, the costs that have arisen to CrossCultural within the framework of the fulfilment of the contract up to the time of cancellation, in each case however (irrespective of the time of the cancellation) at least 50 per cent of the agreed payment, are to be reimbursed.

13. Non-enticement clause
The client is prohibited for the duration of the contract and a year after the end of the contractual relationship from headhunting or employing persons working for CrossCultural (in particular editors and translators). 

14. Reservation of form
14.1 Subsidiary agreements, assurances and other agreements and amendments and supplements to these General Terms and Conditions require to be made in writing to become effective.
14.2 Email and fax also fulfil the requirement for the written form.

15. Invoicing, prices, arrears 
15.1 Invoices are issued in accordance with the order (contract). Where nothing different has been agreed, our prices (and also dispatch costs) are to be taken, if applicable, as net plus legal VAT in Swiss francs and payable within 30 days.
15.2 All services ordered beyond the content outlined in the order confirmation or in the written contract will be invoiced separately by CrossCultural
15.3 If a customer falls behind with a payment, after an appropriate reminder he falls into arrears and owes CrossCultural the legal late payment interest of 5% from the arrival of the reminder.

16. Jurisdiction and applicable law
The contractual relationship between the customer and CrossCultural and the present terms and conditions are subject to substantive Swiss law (excluding international private law), in particular the law applicable to works and services in accordance with Article 363ff of the Code of Obligations (OR). Jurisdiction for the customer and CrossCultural is Zurich. CrossCultural is entitled to prosecute the customer also in his residence or registered office.

17. Final Provisions
On the conclusion of the contract the terms and conditions applicable and delivered at the time of the conclusion of the contract shall apply exclusively. If, because of separate contracts, individual points of the terms and conditions become ineffective that shall not affect the effectiveness in law of the remaining provisions of these terms and conditions.

18. Amendments to the contract 
18.1 Subsequent amendments to the written contract or to the order confirmation signed by CrossCultural (cf. para. 2 above) together with the General Terms and Conditions shall only apply if they have been approved by CrossCultural in writing. 
18.2 Email and fax also fulfil the requirement for the written form. 19. Secrecy, data protection and system-immanent risks 

19. Secrecy, data protection and system-immanent risks
19.1 CrossCultural takes great care to observe the confidentiality of the texts delivered. A 100% confidentiality can, however, not be guaranteed because of the electronic data transmission. 
19.2 CrossCultural endeavours moreover to check the electronic data transmission according to the most recent state of technology for any viruses or similar. However, a 100% protection from such dangers even when taking the necessary care cannot be guaranteed. The attention of the ordering party is expressly drawn to a remaining residual risk.
19.3 CrossCultural shall be entitled to process automatically personal data in an appropriate form and for tasks that arise from this contract.  
19.4 CrossCultural shall furthermore be entitled to pass on participant data to third persons whom it is using for the performance of the services offered or who are concerned with data security and removal of malfunctions in the equipment of the CrossCultural company and in the equipment of third persons used.
19.5 CrossCultural takes the required technical and organisational measures to guarantee meeting the regulations of the Data Protection Act and has bound its staff and third persons who are employed within the framework of the performance of services to strict secrecy.

CrossCultural

CrossCultural – Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen für Sprachdienstleistungen

(Version 07.12.2010)

1. Geltung der AGBs

1.1 CrossCultural Nadja Scherrer (nachfolgend CrossCultural) bietet dem Kunden Sprachdienstleistungen (Übersetzungen, Korrekturen, Sprachunterricht) zu den nachstehenden allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen (AGB) an.

1.2 CrossCultural hält ausdrücklich fest, dass allenfalls bestehenden, abweichenden Geschäftsbedingungen des Auftraggebers nicht zugestimmt wird. 

 

2. Vertragsabschluss

Der Vertrag zwischen dem Kunden und CROSSCULTURAL kommt erst durch einen Antrag des Kunden und dessen Annahme durch CROSSCULTURAL zustande, indem CROSSCULTURAL dem Kunden

a) den von CROSSCULTURAL unterzeichneten schriftlichen Bestellung (Vertrag) übermittelt und dieser vom Kunden gegengezeichnet retourniert wird, oder

b) die von CROSSCULTURAL elektronisch in Schriftform bestätigte Auftragsbestätigung übermittelt.

 

3. Sorgfaltsmassstab

3.1 CROSSCULTURAL erfüllt im Rahmen seiner Leistungen die Sorgfaltsmassstäbe, welche in der Branche allgemeine Gültigkeit haben und aufgrund der konkreten Umstände des Einzelfalls zu berücksichtigen sind. Die Leistungen entsprechen dem in der beruflichen Praxis anerkannten Wissensstand in den betreffenden Fachgebieten und/oder Sprachen. Zu übersetzende Texte werden in der gewünschten Sprache fachgerecht wiedergegeben, ohne dass Kürzungen, Zusätze oder sonstige inhaltliche Veränderungen erfolgen. Vorbehalten bleiben sinngemässe statt wörtlicher Übersetzungen, um den Eigenheiten sowie Qualitätsmassstäben des entsprechenden Sprach-und Kulturraums unter Berücksichtigung der Bedeutung des Originaltextes gerecht zu werden.

3.2 Individuelle Fachterminologien des Kunden werden nur berücksichtigt, wenn dies ausdrücklich vereinbart worden ist und entsprechende, geeignete Unterlagen proaktiv (z.B. in Form von Terminologielisten) und vor der Bestellung vom Kunden zur Verfügung gestellt werden.  

 

 

 

4. Ausführungen durch Dritte

CROSSCULTURAL darf sich zur Erbringung aller Leistungen qualifizierter Dritter (insb. Freiberufler) bedienen. Kontakt zwischen dem Kunden und einem von CROSSCULTURAL eingesetzten Dritten ist nur mit Einwilligung von CROSSCULTURAL erlaubt. Die Geschäftsverbindung besteht – ausser anders vereinbart – nur zwischen dem Kunden und CROSSCULTURAL.

 

5. Auslieferung der Leistungen

5.1 Die bestellte Leistung wird dem Auftraggeber gemäss den Angaben in der schriftlich formulierten Bestellung zugestellt.

5.2 Liefertermine sind nur verbindlich, wenn sie von CROSSCULTURAL schriftlich bestätigt worden sind.

5.3 Eine Lieferung gilt als erfolgt, wenn die Übersetzung an den Kunden abgeschickt wurde.

5.4 Andere Versandformen erfolgen nur aufgrund vorgängig getroffener ausdrücklicher Vereinbarung. Allfällige Versandkosten trägt der Auftraggeber.

5.5 CROSSCULTURAL verpflichtet sich, die Leistungen ordnungsgemäss an die in der Bestellung genannte Kontaktperson zu übermitteln. Für Verspätungen, die infolge von Ausfällen digitaler/elektronischer Netze sowie Störungen bei der Post, Kurierdiensten und dgl. eintreten, haftet CROSSCULTURAL nicht.

 

6. Mängelrüge

Der Auftraggeber hat die gelieferte Leistung bei Erhalt auf Mängel zu untersuchen. Offensichtliche Mängel sind unverzüglich, die übrigen unmittelbar nach deren Entdeckung zu rügen. Versäumt dies der Auftraggeber, so gilt die gelieferte Leistung als genehmigt.

 

7. Gewährleistung

7.1 Falls und soweit eine Leistung von den vertraglich vereinbarten Anforderungen abweicht, hat der Auftraggeber CROSSCULTURAL eine angemessene Frist zur Nachbesserung zu gewähren.

7.2 Erst wenn der Mangel bis zum Ablauf der gesetzten Frist nicht behoben wird, stehen dem Auftraggeber die Rechtsbehelfe der Minderung und Wandlung nach Massgabe des Schweizerischen Werkvertragsrechtes zu.

7.3 Für Vollständigkeit und Richtigkeit der Übersetzungen übernimmt CROSSCULTURAL keine Gewähr.

 

 

7.4 Eine Gewährleistung ist zudem ausgeschlossen, wenn die Abweichungen durch den Auftraggeber selbst verursacht worden sind (z.B. durch unvollständige Informationen oder fehlerhafte Originaltexte).

 

8. Haftungsbeschränkungen

8.1. Unter Vorbehalt der unter Ziffer 7 geregelten Gewährleistungsrechte (Nachbesserung, Minderung sowie Wandlung) sind sämtliche Schadenersatzansprüche (inkl. Haftung für Mangelfolgeschäden sowie Vertrauenshaftung und dgl.) gegenüber CROSSCULTURAL bei leichter und mittlerer Fahrlässigkeit ausgeschlossen.

8.2 Eine Haftung von CROSSCULTURAL für ihre Erfüllungsgehilfen (inkl. beigezogener Freiberufler) wird unter Vorbehalt der in Ziffer 7 geregelten Gewährleistungsrechte vollumfänglich ausgeschlossen.

8.3 Die Höhe jeglicher Haftung von CrossCultural ist zudem auf den Wert der Auftragssumme beschränkt.

 

9. Archivierung von Dokumenten und Daten

Die im Rahmen des Vertrags vom Auftraggeber erhaltenen Daten und die vertraglichen Leistungen von CROSSCULTURAL (i.d.R. erstellte Übersetzungen und redigierte Texte) dürfen von CROSSCULTURAL archiviert werden. Die Löschung dieser Daten erfolgt, sofern dies der Auftraggeber ausdrücklich wünscht.

 

10. Publikationen

Die Publikation oder der Druck einer Übersetzung oder eines anderen von CrossCultural verfassten Texts muss CROSSCULTURAL vorgängig mitgeteilt werden. CROSSCULTURAL ist berechtigt, nach der Publikation der Übersetzung die Zustellung eines Belegexemplars zu verlangen.

 

11. Eigentumsvorbehalt, Urheberrecht

Die gelieferte Arbeit bleibt bis zur vollständigen Bezahlung sämtlicher Forderungen Eigentum von CROSSCULTURAL. CROSSCULTURAL behält sich das Urheberrecht an seinen Übersetzungen und Texten vollumfänglich vor.

 

12. Kündigung durch den Auftraggeber

12.1 Die Voraussetzungen einer vorzeitigen Kündigung des Vertrages durch den Auftraggeber richten sich nach den Bestimmungen des Schweizerischen Obligationenrechts.

 

 

 

 

 

12.2 Im Falle einer Kündigung sind der CROSSCULTURAL die Kosten, welche ihr im Rahmen der Vertragserfüllung bis zum Zeitpunkt der Kündigung entstanden sind, in jedem Fall jedoch (unabhängig vom Zeitpunkt der Kündigung) mindestens 50 Prozent des vereinbarten Entgelts, zu ersetzen.

 

13. Abwerbungsverbot

Dem Auftraggeber ist es während der Vertragsdauer sowie ein Jahr nach der Beendigung des Vertragsverhältnisses untersagt, für CROSSCULTURAL tätige Personen (insb. Redaktoren und Übersetzer) abzuwerben oder zu beschäftigen.

 

14. Formvorbehalt

14.1 Nebenabreden, Zusicherungen und sonstige Vereinbarungen sowie Änderungen und Ergänzungen dieser allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen bedürfen zu ihrer Gültigkeit der Schriftform.

14.2 Die Schriftform ist auch durch E-Mail und Telefax erfüllt.

 

15. Verrechnung, Preise, Verzug

15.1 Die Rechnungsstellung erfolgt gemäss Bestellung (Vertrag). Wo nichts anderes vereinbart, verstehen sich unsere Preise (sowie Versandkosten) netto zuzüglich, falls zutreffend, gesetzlicher Mehrwertsteuer, in Schweizer Franken und zahlbar innert 30 Tagen.

15.2 Alle bestellten Leistungen, die über den in der Auftragsbestätigung oder im schriftlichen
Vertrag umschriebenen Inhalt hinausgehen, werden von CROSSCULTURAL gesondert in Rechnung gestellt.

15.3 Befindet sich der Kunde mit einer Zahlung im Rückstand, so gerät er nach entsprechender Mahnung in Verzug und schuldet CROSSCULTURAL ab Zugang der Mahnung den gesetzlichen Verzugszins von 5 %.

 

16. Gerichtsstand und anwendbares Recht

Das Vertragsverhältnis zwischen Kunde und CROSSCULTURAL sowie die vorliegenden AGB unterstehen dem materiellen schweizerischen Recht (unter Ausschluss des internationalen Privatrechts), insbesondere dem Werkvertragsrecht gemäss Art. 363 ff. des Obligationenrechts (OR). Gerichtsstand für den Kunden und CROSSCULTURAL ist Zürich. CROSSCULTURAL ist berechtigt, den Kunden auch an seinem Wohnsitz bzw. Sitz zu belangen.

 

 

 

 

 

17. Schlussbestimmungen

Bei Vertragsabschluss gelten ausschliesslich die zur Zeit des Abschlusses gültigen und übergebenen AGB. Sollten durch gesonderte Verträge einzelne Punkte der Geschäftsbedingungen unwirksam werden, berührt das die Rechtswirksamkeit der übrigen Bestimmungen dieser AGB nicht.

 

18. Vertragsänderungen

18.1 Nachträgliche Änderungen am schriftlichen Vertrag bzw. an der von CROSSCULTURAL unterzeichneten Bestellung (vgl. Ziffer 2 oben) samt den allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen gelten nur, wenn sie von CROSSCULTURAL schriftlich anerkannt werden.

18.2 Die Schriftform ist auch durch E-Mail und Telefax erfüllt.

 

19. Geheimhaltung, Datenschutz und system-immanente Risiken

19.1 CROSSCULTURAL  bemüht sich, die Vertraulichkeit der übermittelten Texte zu wahren. Eine 100%-ige Vertraulichkeit kann aufgrund der elektronischen Datenübermittlung jedoch nicht gewährleistet werden.

19.2 CROSSCULTURAL ist ferner bemüht, die elektronische Datenübermittlung nach dem jeweils neuesten Stand der Technik auf etwaige Viren und dgl. hin zu untersuchen. Dennoch kann ein 100%-iger Schutz vor solchen Gefahren auch bei Beachtung der gebotenen Sorgfalt nicht gewährleistet werden. Der Auftraggeber wird auf ein verbleibendes Restrisiko ausdrücklich aufmerksam gemacht.

19.3 CROSSCULTURAL ist berechtigt, personenbezogene Daten in geeigneter Form und für Aufgaben, die sich aus diesem Vertrag ergeben, maschinell zu verarbeiten.

19.4 CROSSCULTURAL ist im Weiteren berechtigt, Teilnehmerdaten an Dritte weiterzugeben, denen sie sich bei der Erbringung der angebotenen Leistungen bedient oder welche sich mit der Datensicherung sowie Beseitigung von Störungen in den Anlagen der Firma CROSSCULTURAL sowie in den in Anspruch genommenen Anlagen Dritter befassen.

19.5 CROSSCULTURAL trifft die erforderlichen technischen und organisatorischen Massnahmen, um die Einhaltung der Vorschriften des Datenschutzgesetzes zu gewährleisten und hat ihre Mitarbeiter und Dritte, welche im Rahmen der Leistungserbringung tätig werden, zu strenger Geheimhaltung verpflichtet.