CrossCultural

Cross-cultural Consulting

BASED ON LATEST SCIENTIFIC FINDINGS, SYNERGY-ORIENTED AND PRACTICAL

According to studies, the ability of a company to exchange knowledge transnationally and interculturally is the core factor to sustainably prevail in the market (Morisini und Renaud 2003). Also the public sector, which equally depends on knowledge exchange and information flow, should increasingly focus on the cultural competence of its employees to show its commitment to effective communication between people from various cultures.

Opportunities and risks of globalisation are diverse. It is undisputed, however, that transnational business activities and dealing with people from different cultural backgrounds requires intercultural competence. In fact, intercultural competence forms the basis for successful global business and communication. It is crucial to realise though that the capacity to act in an intercultural context goes beyond the knowledge of foreign languages and international experience.

Culture is like an iceberg: the visible tip of the iceberg reflects the visible aspects of culture like art, food and drink, dress, rituals, manners and outward behaviour etc. while the invisible - and much bigger - part of the iceberg can be compared to the cognitive and emotional side of culture like hidden expectations or orientation toward time, space, communication etc..

An important step on the path to intercultural competence is thus the understanding of one’s own cultural imprint and the development of strategies to come to terms with one’s own culture as well as with the culture of others. This increases our ability to act in an international context and thus maximizes synergy potential and at the same time minimises conflict potential.

We thus include reflections and exercises on our own cultural background in all our seminars and presentations which are based on the latest scientific studies from the field of intercultural communication. The content is adapted to the corresponding core topic of the seminar (e.g. marketing, leadership, team building, education etc.).

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any queries or if you wish to receive a quote. Our working languages are English, French and German. Ms Nadja-Timea Scherrer will be happy to help you: nadja.scherrer This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it h, +41 (0) 78 626 73 78.

CrossCultural

Interkulturelle Beratung

AUF JÜNGSTEN WISSENSCHAFTLICHEN ERKENNTNISSEN BASIEREND, SYNERGIE-ORIENTIERT UND PRAGMATISCH

Gemäss Studien wird die Befähigung eines Unternehmens zu grenzüberschreitendem und damit interkulturellem Wissensaustausch als der wichtigste Faktor zur nachhaltigen Behauptung am Markt bezeichnet (Morisini und Renaud 2003). Auch im öffentlichen Bereich – der genauso auf den Wissensaustausch und Informationsfluss angewiesen ist – ist die kulturelle Kompetenz von Mitarbeitenden ein wichtiger Faktor, wenn man sich der wirkungsvollen Kommunikation zwischen Menschen unterschiedlicher Kulturen verschreiben möchte.

Die Chancen und Risiken der Globalisierung sind vielgestaltig. Unbestritten ist jedoch, dass grenzüberschreitende Geschäftstätigkeit und somit der Umgang mit Menschen aus unterschiedlichen Kulturkreisen interkulturelle Kompetenz erfordert. Denn interkulturelle Kompetenz stellt die Basis für eine erfolgreiche globale Kommunikation dar. Transkulturelle Handlungsfähigkeit geht jedoch über Fremdsprachenkenntnisse und Auslanderfahrung hinaus.

Wie ein Eisberg hat nämlich auch Kultur zwei Seiten: Die sichtbare Spitze des Eisbergs widerspiegelt die offensichtlichen Aspekte von Kultur wie die Kunst, das Essen, die Rituale, das äussere Verhalten, die Umgangsformen, die Kleidung etc. während der unsichtbare - viel grössere - Teil des Eisbergs für die unbewussten Aspekte von Kultur, also die kognitiven und emotionalen Muster wie zum Beispiel den Bezug zu Zeit, Raum, Kommunikation, versteckte Erwartungen etc. steht.

Ein wichtiger Schritt auf dem Weg zu interkultureller Kompetenz ist daher das Verständnis der eigenen kulturellen Prägung und die Entwicklung von Strategien für die Auseinandersetzung sowohl mit der Eigen- als auch mit der Fremdkultur. Dadurch wird die Handlungsfähigkeit im internationalen Kontext verstärkt, was einerseits  zu einer Minimierung des Konfliktpotenzials und andererseits zu einer Maximierung des Synergiepotenzials führt.

Unsere Seminare beinhalten Reflexionen und Übungen wie Rollenspiele zur Bewusstmachung unseres eigenen kulturellen Erbes anhand jüngster wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse aus dem Forschungsbereich der interkulturellen Kommunikation. Die inhaltlichen Schwerpunkte werden an das Kernthema (z.B. Marketing, Führung, Teambuilding, Bildung etc.) des jeweiligen Seminars angepasst.

Für Offerten und bei Fragen können Sie uns gerne kontaktieren. Unsere Arbeitssprachen sind Englisch, Französisch und Deutsch. Frau Nadja-Timea Scherrer freut sich auf Ihre Kontaktaufnahme: nadja.scherrer Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann. h.